

GSPRA Professional Award Winners

The Georgia School Public Relations Association recognizes excellence in the field of school public relations and commitment to the organization through our professional awards for members.

In addition, GSPRA honors communications leadership through the Outstanding Leadership in School/Community Relations Award for those who are not PR professionals.

The Andy Olson Award of Excellence in School Public Relations— at one time, a competitive awards program to salute exemplary programs and projects— will be retooled and relaunched in the future.

Veteran GSPRAns, we need to update this list and build a list for the Outstanding Leadership Award. If you are aware of winners from the "missing" years or winners of the Leadership Award, please let us know.

Marie Wofford Professional Growth Award

This award recognizes a GSPRA member for outstanding work in the field of public relations prior to and during the previous school year. A nominated member may be at any point (early, mid-career, retiring, etc.) in his or her career. Nominations are accepted from members, colleagues, supervisors, and superintendents/Board members. Nominees must be members in good standing. Prior to 2014, the GSPRA Professional Growth Award recognized an outstanding GSPRA member who was a newcomer to the field of public relations. A winner may not be named every year. The award honors the contributions of Marie Wofford a longtime and much-missed member who passed away in 2007.

2013— Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, Clarke County School District

2012— J.D. Hardin, Henry County Schools

2010— Chris Floore, Bibb County Schools

2009— Jennifer Steedley, Valdosta City Schools

2008— Lou Ann Lardy, Colquitt County Schools

2007— Lydia Hubert, Brooks County Schools

2006— Mulkey McMichael, Sumter County Schools

2001— Rose Aldridge

2000— John LaBoone, Camden County Schools

1999— Jennifer Caracciolo, Newton County Schools

1996— Craig Harper, Dalton County Schools

1995— Carrie Budd, Cherokee County Schools

1993— **Dr. Jimmy Morris,** Clarke County Schools

1992— Marquette McKnight, Muscogee County Schools

1991— Greg Hunt, Southeastern Elementary

1990— Laura Reilly, APR, Gwinnett County Public Schools

1988— Steve Smith, Barrow County Schools

1987— Anna Burns, Griffin Spalding Schools





Anne Raymond Distinguished Service Award

This award honors a GSPRA member for his or her commitment and dedication to the organization and to the profession. Typically, this member has gone above and beyond the call to support GSPRA and GSPRAns. Any GSPRA member in good standing may nominate a fellow member for this award. A winner may not be named every year. The award honors a GSPRA founder who is considered "The Mother of GSPRA."

- 2012— Kirk Englehardt, Georgia Institute of Technology
- 2010—Bill Maddox, Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education
- 2009— Laura Nurse, APR, Gwinnett County Public Schools
- 2008— Karen Stroud, Douglas County Schools
- 2007— Bill Doughty, APR, City of Johns Creek
- 2004— Jennifer Caracciolo, Forsyth County Schools
- 2003— Sloan Roach, Gwinnett County Public Schools
- 2002— Pat Holloway, APR, Whitfield County Schools
- 2001— Laura Reilly, APR, Arts and Letters
- 2000 Janeen Josey, Valdosta City Schools
- 1999— Marie Wofford, APR, Emanuel County Schools
- 1998— Tim Hensley, APR, Floyd County Schools
- 1997— Mitzi Edge, APR, Fulton County Schools
- 1996— Helen McCorvey, Doughtery County Schools
- 1995— Bill Bedford, Baldwin County Schools
- 1994— Rick Maddox, Clayton County Schools
- 1993— Berney Kirkland, APR, Gwinnett County Schools
- 1992— Brooks Coleman, Gwinnett County Public Schools
- 1991— Julia Gervais, Douglas County Schools
- 1990— Jane Lane Harper, Glynn County Schools
- 1989— Judy Byrd, Griffin Spalding County Schools
- 1988— Elizabeth Ackerman, APR, Fulton County Schools
- 1987— Harry Williams, University of Georgia
- 1986— Andy Olsen, DeKalb County Schools, and Anne Raymond, Georgia Department of Education

